I Feel Beautiful

May 29, 2009

Filed under: Planning,Social — Jill @ 8:21 PM
Tags: , , ,

As may be obvious, I need to get out of the house more. I am hermit-like by nature, but right now it’s important to meet new people, make new friends, and broaden my world a little bit. It’s hard to do all of that from the couch.

I have a job interview tomorrow and while I’m out, I’m going to walk around the Village a bit, stop in the coffee shop where I used to work, and just be open to talking to people. I’ve also committed to going to the bar with my roommates on Tuesday. I’ll stick around long enough to watch the hockey game if nothing else.

I should also head back to the shop in Reno sometime next week; I think my presence there will only help my chances of employment. Not only that, it’s an oddly social place for me so it will give me a chance to practice talking to strangers. I always feel more friendly, more obligated to be friendly, in places where other people may feel awkward but I don’t.

My current social goals really are that simple right now. Get out of the house and talk to people. Give myself a chance to like people. Don’t just hide in the house because it’s easy. Once I settle into a job and schedule for the summer, I’ll work my way up to getting in touch with some of the people I worked with this winter. It was always my friend C who encouraged me to put myself out there more and who reminded me of how likable I am; I still have to do those things, even now that we’re not friends.

 

Leave a Reply

